skip to Main Content

Three new Tan Sri in Sabah

Sabah State Assembly Deputy Speaker Datuk Johnny Mositun (left),Tan Sri Joseph Lo (centre) and LDP vice president Datuk Chin Shu Ying after the investiture ceremony at the Istana Negara. Lo was conferred the PSM award which carries the title Tan Sri while Mositun and Chin were conferred the PJN which carries the title Datuk.

PUTRAJAYA: Three political and business leaders from Sabah were yesterday among 52 persons bestowed the Darjah Kebesaran Panglima Setia Mahkota (PSM) which also carries the title Tan Sri in conjunction with the birthday of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Tuanku Abdul Halim Mu’adzam Shah.

They were Pembinaan Azam Jaya Sdn Bhd managing director (MD) Datuk Joseph Lo @ Lo Tain Foh, former Liberal Democratic Party (LDP) deputy president Datuk Lau Ngan Siew, and United Pasokmomogun Kadazandusun Murut Organisation (UPKO) vice president Datuk Seri Wences Angang.

Attorney-General Tan Sri Mohamed Apandi Ali heads the list of 1,546 recipients of 2016 Federal Orders, Decorations and Medals. Mohamed Apandi was the sole recipient of Darjah Panglima Mangku Negara (PMN) which carries the title Tan Sri.

The other recipients of PSM were Federal Court Judge Datuk Ramly Ali, Federal Court Judge Datuk Azahar Mohamed, Federal Court Judge Datuk Zaharah Ibrahim, senior deputy secretary-general Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Othman Mahmood, Foreign Ministry secretary-general Datuk Othman Hashim, Science, Technology and Innovation Ministry secretary-general Datuk Seri Dr Noorul Ainur Mohd Nur, Education director-general Datuk Seri Dr Khair Mohamad Yusof, Public Service Commission chairman Datuk Seri Arpah Abdul Razak, Malaysian Islamic Development Department director-general Datuk Othman Mustafa, National Culture and Arts Department director-general Datuk Norliza Rofli, Securities Commission Malaysia executive chairman Datuk Seri Ranjit Singh a/l Ajith Singh, Malaysian Council of Former Elected Representatives information chief Datuk Abdul Rahman Sulaiman, Latimer Corporation Sdn Bhd managing director Datuk Dennis Chandratheepam Latimer, Axiata Group Berhad president and group executive director Datuk Seri Jamaludin Ibrahim, Widad Business Group’s group executive chairman Datuk Seri Muhammad Ikmal Opat Abdullah, Cyberjaya University College of Medical Sciences Pro Chancellor Datuk R.Palaniappan, Chief of Navy Admiral Datuk Seri Ahmad Kamarulzaman Ahmad Badaruddin, deputy InspectorGeneral of Police Datuk Seri Noor Rashid Ibrahim, former Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Senator Datuk Seri Abdul Wahid Omar, Umno Wanita chief/Women’s Economic Advisor Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil, Selangor State Federal Action Council adviser Datuk Seri Noh Omar, Kampar Jaya MIC division chairman Datuk S.Veerasingam, Parti Bersatu India Malaysia president Datuk Seri S.Nallakaruppan, Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu Wanita chief Datuk Seri Empiang anak Antak, Parti Progresif Penduduk Malaysia financial advisor Datuk M.N Puvanendran, Federation of Malaysian Manfacturers president Datuk Seri Saw Choo Boon, former Plantation Industries and Commodities deputy minister, Datuk Noriah Kasnon (Posthumously) who died in a helicopter crash in Sebuyau, Sarawak on May 5, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) chaiman Datuk Seri Ibrahim Saad, Judicial Appointments Commission member Datuk Seri Sulong Mat Jeraie, Universiti Malaysia Kelantan (UMK) academic Datuk Prof Dr Abdul Latiff Abu Bakar, Universiti Malaya (UM) vice chancellor Prof Datuk Dr Mohd Amin Jalaludin, executive chairman AHT (Norlan United) and Carriage Sdn Bhd Datuk Abdullah Taib, Rural Capital Sdn Bhd chairman Datuk Seri Abu Seman Yusop, Arus Intelek Sdn Bhd executive chairman Datin Azizah Abdul Ghani; The AlloyMtd Group president and chief executive officer (CEO) Datuk Dr Azmil Khalili Khalid; BREM Holdings Berhad CEO and MD, Datuk Khoo Chai Kaa; ECK Development Sdn Bhd MD, Datuk Khor Eng Chuen; United U-Li Corporation Berhad Group MD Datuk Lee Yoon Wah, Malaysian Council of Former Elected Representatives (Mubarak) deputy president Datuk Md Yazid Baba, HMS Oil and Gas Sdn Bhd chairman Datuk Norazman Hamidun, BCB Berhad Group MD Datuk Tan Seng Leong, Dimensi Eksklusif (M) Sdn Bhd MD Datuk Seri Zainul Azman Zainul Aziz; Synergy Energy (Labuan) Ltd founder and director, Datuk Seri Loo Chong Sing, retired Senior Police Officers Association (RESPA) president, Datuk Mohd Ismail Che Rus, former Deputy Information Minister Datuk Mohd Khalid Mohd Yunus, Kota Baharu Umno chief Datuk Mohamad Fatmi Che Salleh, former MCA Central Committee member MCA Datuk Wong Mook Leong, former MCA president Tan Koon Swan @ Chin Khoon, and CCK Consolidated Holdings Berhad chairman Datuk Tiong Su Kouk.

Meanwhile, 79 people were awarded the Panglima Jasa Negara (PJN) which carries the title ‘Datuk’, including Sabah State Assembly Deputy Speaker Datuk Johnny Mositun and LDP vice president Datuk Chin Shu Ying. Meanwhile, 37 individuals received the Darjah Kebesaran Johan Mangku Negara (JMN).

Joseph Lo, a businessman and philantropist who resides in Kota Kinabalu is married to Puan Sri Datin Jennifer Lim-Lo. They have two sons, six daughters and nine grandchildren.

Lo comes from a family of businessmen and has from his early years always been involved in the construction industry. Over the years he had successfully developed his construction business to become one of the dominant players in the industry.

Today his company Pembinaan Azam Jaya Sdn Bhd, under the chairmanship of Tun Haji Ahmad Shah Bin Haji Abdullah is at the forefront of road building and other infrastructure works in Sabah.

Many of the outstanding completed projects of Pembinaan Azam Jaya Sdn Bhd were the ‘firsts’ of its kind in Sabah. These include the first bore pile retaining wall, the first flyover, the first longest pre-stressed vehicular bridge and the first tunnel in Sabah.

Lo is currently preoccupied with the ongoing construction of two flyovers along Jalan LintasJalan Kolam and Jalan LintasJalan Tuaran. These projects are expected to be completed by 2017. He has also expanded his business into private development projects including the construction of light industrial warehouses at Inanam, known as ‘The Factory’.

Lo is also well known amongst the Sabah community for his philanthropic work.

He is a strong patron of educational institutions, homes for the aged, and numerous organisations and charities for the handicapped and disadvantaged.

Lau, who is also a founding member of LDP, served two terms as Sandakan MP when he helped secure funds from the federal government to build new roads and Sandakan Airport aero bridge, and also contributed towards the development of new Sandakan Harbour Square project.

Source: The Borneo Post